Don’t Vote

A lot has been said about Senator Obama — that he is a Muslim, that he hates America, that he is a terrorist, et cetera — and every time these slanderous accusations spill forth, it seems as though there are always people who nod their heads along, signaling their total acceptance of these lies. Meanwhile, liberals laugh quietly to themselves; they know how ridiculous these claims are.

And trust me, I know these things first-hand. I have a friend, Josiah, who I, as a liberal, continually laugh at for being an ignorant neo-con.

Yesterday, Josiah and I were having a conversation about the presidential election when I accused him of believing Obama was a Muslim.1 He retorted rather angrily, “I know Obama isn’t a Muslim! Don’t be silly. But it is undeniable that he has strong terrorist connections.” lol.

What’s scary, though, is the fact that Josiah turned eighteen just shy of a month ago. He registered to vote, like every patriotic American should, and stated how proud he was of himself that he could finally get involved in the political process.

“Out of curiosity,” I asked him. “Do you believe you are an informed voter?” He responded, “Not really.”

I don’t think Josiah should vote, although I will do nothing to take his right away. I don’t think Josiah should vote because he is, rather simply, not intelligent enough. I asked him what he thought on a progressive tax, “I don’t know.” I asked him what he thought about a national I.D. card, “I don’t know.” I asked him what he thought on the Bush Doctrine, “I don’t know.” Do you have an opinion on anything? “Well… I don’t know.”

I doubt most Americans, both liberals and conservatives, are much more informed than Josiah. I doubt most Americans truly research the candidates and the issues outside of what they see on television. I doubt most Americans are informed.

Therefore, I strongly urge those who are aware of their ignorance, to please not vote.

1 Josiah believes homosexuals, Atheists, Muslims, and Jews are terrible people. I was driving at the point that Josiah did not care about Senator Obama’s positions, and that he was judging Senator Obama solely on his background.

8 Responses to “Don’t Vote”

  1. Josiah, eh? Gee, wonder who that might be…

  2. Thanks for the very insightful comment Matt.

  3. wow, what kind of background/uprising would make someone to believe that atheists are terrible ppl?

    well, it’s either this, or communism. i mean you have a few(most of the time only one) really smart ppl on the top, and nobody has to do anything about politics. but it doesn’t work. so yeah…

  4. If I remember correctly, Bern, God is supposed to hate me, not you. You are supposed to try to convert me, to try to “save me”. I’m glad my best friend thinks I’m “terrible”.

    Atheism is, by definition, unorganized. If anything has a bureaucratic structure, it has to be religion. You have a few people on the top, and a majority on the bottom who consumes the philosophy and politics of those in the top. Don’t you find it strange that the most hardcore Christians tend to be those who are the most hardcore conservatives? Doesn’t that borderline group think?

  5. Sweatingjojo Says:

    I appreciate the fact that you actually have interesting stuff to say. It certainly makes you better than about 98% of the other 15 year olds that “blog”.

  6. politicalgrapevine Says:

    “I doubt most Americans, both liberals and conservatives, are much more informed than Josiah. I doubt most Americans truly research the candidates and the issues outside of what they see on television. I doubt most Americans are informed.

    Therefore, I strongly urge those who are aware of their ignorance, to please not vote.” Great Statement!

  7. I’d just be curious to see what your opinion is regarding having to have the ballot printed in multiple languages.

    In California, for instance, they printed the ballots in 44 different languages. If they couldn’t understand the debates; if they couldn’t become informed due to an inability to understand English, how in the world are we to expect non-English speaking “citizens” to choose the right candidates?

Leave a Reply

