We are Nothing

[Picture of an empty, black rectangle.]

To be humbled, some say that he must look to the stars. They point him to galaxies as they speak of gigantic voids creating our universe. They spout esoteric terms such as “light year” and “infinite”. They try tirelessly to inflict a sense of doom upon the population.

I think this is totally unnecessary.

For those who truly want to comprehend their insignificance, I ask them to stand on any major city street. I ask them to let the cars roll past them, and to let the lights consume. I ask them to imagine the thousands of people inside these cars. And I ask them to think about motivation.

Then I tell them. I tell them every driver has a reason for his driving. I tell them that everyone is driving somewhere for some reason. And that every single somewhere will lead to subsequent events. And that those subsequent events will forever change the personalities of those at those events. And most probably, it will not matter.

It is only after all this, I tell them : You are insignificant.

5 Responses to “We are Nothing”

  1. well i would have to disagree. “we” as a collective pronoun for mankind, is basically everything, as what we do most certainly have effects on us. sure, if you represent the universe and we are part of a universal community, we are nothing. but we are not. as of right now, social, spiritual, political, etc aspects of our lives are mostly controlled by ourselves.

    i think u should say sidewalk instead of street, cuz combined with phrases like “You are insignificant”, “it will not matter”, and “we are nothing”, someone might just walk into the middle of the street and suicide.

  2. “well i would have to disagree.”
    I am surprised. Deeply surprised. Shockingly surprised. Dumbfounded even.

    “our lives are mostly controlled by ourselves.”
    But does our control of ourselves really matter in the long road?

    “i think u should say sidewalk instead of street…”
    I thought something similar as I wrote that. I decided against changing the phrase, though, because “any sidewalk to any major city street” just didn’t flow well. And my point got across well regardless.

  3. well am i glad that your sarcasm only extends to one adjective and three adverbs. Bon courage!
    “does our control of ourselves really matter in the long road?”
    again, that depends on whether you put yourself in the community of the universe, which is completely degenerating to the society and makes you about as use(ful)(less) as any other object in this world. this kind of thinking allows for, say, immoral acts, since the consequence has nothing in the “long road”
    the question that i pose is, what is the point of being humbled? this seems rather contradictory to one of your earlier posts, where mankind was praised for its durability and innovation. if being humbled means degrading the value of one’s actions, it has got to be one of the worst ideas ever.

  4. wow i don’t know my adjectives or adverbs do i?

  5. Perfectly valid points. I just disagree.

    “this kind of thinking allows for, say, immoral acts, since the consequence has nothing in the ‘long road'”
    You are correct. I cannot explain why I perform many actions that don’t result in personal net benefit, but that does not negate the fact I do perform those kinds of actions. Maybe it’s empathy. Maybe it’s human nature ingrained through evolution. Maybe I believe following society’s rules will make me happier overall. I don’t know, so you can win there.

    “this seems rather contradictory to one of your earlier posts, where mankind was praised for its durability and innovation. if being humbled means degrading the value of one’s actions”
    Again, I don’t know. I understand your logic, but I am unwilling to accept it. I think it is perfectly okay to not understand why we do things seemingly useless, and to wonder, then, why we did those things when they appear to be useless.

    I seem silly in my logic, I know.

Leave a Reply

