I Am a Bad Writer

It’s hard to blog. It really is.

I can write great five paragraph essays almost as well as I can write business letters. Writing a narrative, persuasive essay, response to literature, or comparison and contrast is a breeze. And don’t get me started on essays for the SAT. I know how to do all of these things because my school teaches me how. I’ve mastered these forms of writing.

But there is a problem with how schools teach writing. They teach students a very limited scope of the broad spectrum writing really is. When I am an adult, I will not need to recall my comparison and contrast skills I learned from third grade, nor will I have to call my mom for notes taken on persuasion. I won’t need to respond to literature, nor will I have to quickly write twenty-five minute drafts on cliché topics.

I say, the best way to learn to write is to just write. That’s why I started this blog. I told myself, ‘No more strict guidelines; no more formulas; no more formalities. I just want to write for the sake of writing, and nothing more.’

I’ve learned how to write formally. But I don’t know how to write informal blogs that are focused and coherent. Give me a chance. I’m learning.

2 Responses to “I Am a Bad Writer”

  1. “focused and coherent”
    THIS is the problem of your writing(for a blog) it’s actually focused and coherent =p

  2. I’ll take that as a compliment. I think you miss the point though.

    I would never use as many contractions as I do here on my school assignments. I would never write 2-3 sentence paragraphs for any assignment at school. I would never write with the informal tone I use to write on here at school. I would never do many things (such as use the word “things”) that I do here for school.

Leave a Reply

